History-Making Commencement Ceremony at Chatfield College

The Saturday, May 18th commencement ceremony held at Chatfield College’s Over-the-Rhine campus was a truly wonderful and historic event. The 48th commencement ceremony was the first to be held at the downtown campus in the more than 30 years Chatfield has had an urban presence.  Cheers from passing cars and pedestrians only added to the excitement and celebration of the thirty-six graduates from both the St. Martin and Over-the-Rhine campuses honored in the ceremony.

A great friend and supporter of Chatfield, Michael Pcolinski Ph.D., Vice President of Advanced
Materials & Systems Research at BASF in North America, gave the commencement address.

Receiving Associate Degrees were Henry Black Jr., Jonah Wade Blankenship, Nicholas Simon Blendea, Ryan Keith Boggs, Cole Steven Brown, Elizabeth Burnside, Grace Carol Crain, Kenyauta Shameka Davis, Tonya Renee DeVaughn, Moses Israel Dobbs, Brandon James Doughman, Hunter Anthony Ellis, Chazeray Lanise Ewing, Jacob Tyler Fields, Donnelka Feli Foster, Monica Kay Goodman, Adriene Andrea Harrell, Pamela Denise Hoskins, Anna Nicole Howard, Shawna Marie Hrzic, Rivers Belle Lewis, Rachel Jean Luti, Shialia Tiera McCoy, Cecilia Faye Murphy, Abigail Eileen Peace, Jessica Joyce Perez, Brianna Nichole Posey, Gracie Isabella Roades, Rickia T. Roberts, Courtney Tyan Sedgwick, Estacia Jarae Simpson, Arletthe Denise Smith, Diamond D. Smith, Shawnte Monike Williams , Megan Rebekah Wolf, and Sarah Rachelle Zugg.

Two graduates were awarded the Julia Chatfield Distinguished Student Award—Hunter Ellis from the St. Martin Campus and Elizabeth Burnside from the Over-the-Rhine campus. This award is designed to recognize a graduate at each campus based on nominations submitted by the faculty and staff. Besides a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher, the student must exhibit the determination of Julia Chatfield by turning obstacles into opportunities, is friendly, inclusive and supportive in dealing with others and displays leadership qualities. Both serve as leaders of the Student Service Clubs on their respective campuses and were instrumental in raising funds for this year’s class gifts.

Lonnie Griffith was presented with Chatfield’s Dean Agatha Fitzgerald, OSU Excellence in Teaching Award. This award is given each year to an instructor who exemplifies the academic spirit and values of Chatfield College. Previous to teaching at the collegiate level, he taught social studies classes for grades fifth through eighth in the Cincinnati area for 12 years. For the past eight years, Lonnie has taught a wide range of college courses, primarily at Chatfield College. in 2017, Lonnie became the Humanities Department Chair for Chatfield, teaching at both the St. Martin and Over-the-Rhine campuses.

A complete video of the ceremony can be found at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ULToliM9Wa4&feature=youtu.be


Upcoming Events

The Chatfield Edge, Former College Turned Nonprofit, Appoints First Executive Director

St. Martin, Ohio (August 28, 2023) – The Chatfield Edge, a newly-founded nonprofit in Southwest Ohio, has appointed its first executive director to lead the organization in helping first-generation and…

Read More »

Seasons Harvest: A New Chapter for Chatfield

Devoted to educational attainment, The Chatfield Edge was profiled in the August issue of Seasons Harvest magazine. Click image or HERE to read the full article.

Read More »

Chatfield College to become The Chatfield Edge, a regional student support center, January 2023

Chatfield College announced today that it plans to transition from a two-year, private liberal arts college to a nonprofit agency focused on supporting postsecondary education attainment, beginning in January 2023….

Read More »