Chatfield College Inducts 27 Students into Honor Societies


In a combined ceremony, Chatfield College recently inducted six members into the Julia Chatfield Honor Society and 23 members into the Phi Theta Kappa Society.

Named in honor of Julia Chatfield, OSU, foundress of the Ursulines of Brown County, the Julia Chatfield Honor Society was formed to honor students who have demonstrated personal integrity through exemplary scholarship, service to others, and moral or spiritual values. Chatfield faculty submitted nominations for membership into the society and eligible students were contacted via a nomination letter.

Those students chosen for induction in 2017 include  Abigail N. Bedard, Emanuela L. Blendea, Maria Bockhorst, Grant L. Brown, Courtney R. Stewart, and Daphne Nicole Thompson.

Members of the Julia Chatfield Honor Society are given pins and gold cords to wear at graduation to commemorate their academic achievement.

Phi Theta Kappa is the official honor society for two-year colleges.  Its mission is to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and provide opportunities for
individual growth and development through honors, leadership and service programming.  It is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 1.3 million members and 1,200 chapters located in 50 states, U.S. territories, Canada and Germany.

The following people were inducted into Chatfield’s Beta Omicron Eta Chapter: Annie  Allen, Faith Black, Sadie Benfield, Emanuela Blendea, Darla Boitnott, Taylor Cornett, Rebecca Dabbs, Dawson Eakins, Hunter Ellis, Dena Hiler, Andrew Jones, Trent Moore, Olivia Neff, Kamri Beth Offutt, Jessica Perez, Sidney Rohde, Rebecca Slusher, Heaven Spurlock, Courtney Stewart, George Thompson, Margo Thompson, Nakela Williams and Holly Young.

Members of the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society are given blue and gold cords and gold tassels to wear at graduation in commemoration of their academic achievement.

Following the honors ceremony, Genine Gray, Over-the-Rhine student, and Trent Moor, St. Martin student were presented with the Ursuline Student Recognition Award.

Chatfield College is a private, Catholic, liberal arts college offering the Associate of Arts degree at its St. Martin campus in northern Brown County, and is an open enrollment college. Chatfield’s open enrollment policy means that prospective students need only have a High School Diploma or GED to attend Chatfield and will be guided individually through the enrollment and Financial Aid application process.  The St. Martin campus is located at 20918 State Route 251; St. Martin, OH  45118.  The Cincinnati campus is located in Over-the-Rhine at 1544 Central Parkway; Cincinnati, OH  45202.


For more information, visit the website at, or email

Upcoming Events

The Chatfield Edge, Former College Turned Nonprofit, Appoints First Executive Director

St. Martin, Ohio (August 28, 2023) – The Chatfield Edge, a newly-founded nonprofit in Southwest Ohio, has appointed its first executive director to lead the organization in helping first-generation and…

Read More »

Seasons Harvest: A New Chapter for Chatfield

Devoted to educational attainment, The Chatfield Edge was profiled in the August issue of Seasons Harvest magazine. Click image or HERE to read the full article.

Read More »

Chatfield College to become The Chatfield Edge, a regional student support center, January 2023

Chatfield College announced today that it plans to transition from a two-year, private liberal arts college to a nonprofit agency focused on supporting postsecondary education attainment, beginning in January 2023….

Read More »